Do misdemeanors go away in Kentucky?
Misdemeanor: Eligible for expungement after 1-year. There is no filing fee. Felony: Eligible for expungement after 3-years. There is no filing fee.
How long does a misdemeanor stay on your record in Kentucky?
Kentucky’s courts may now expunge your misdemeanor record if you have no pending charges and the expungement petition is filed no sooner than (5) five years after the completion of the person’s sentence or five (5) years after the successful completion of the person’s probation, whichever occurs later.
What disqualifies you from owning a gun in Kentucky?
Under federal law, people are generally prohibited from purchasing or possessing firearms if they have been convicted of a felony or some domestic violence misdemeanors, or if they are subject to certain court orders related to domestic violence or a serious mental condition. …
What is the most common punishment for a misdemeanor?
The most common misdemeanor-felony penalty threshold is one year. Generally, misdemeanors are punishable by less than one year or 365 days, whereas felonies are generally subject to more than one year of incarceration. In 24 states the maximum penalty for a misdemeanor is up to one year of incarceration.
How much does it cost to get a misdemeanor expunged in Kentucky?
KRS 431.073(5). Misdemeanor expungement costs $100 per case (not per charge), $50 of which is refundable if the expungement is denied. KRS 431.073(6).
How serious are misdemeanors?
Less serious than a felony, a misdemeanor is a criminal charge that can be punished with fines and jail time. Often times people don’t think this type of charge is serious, since they might only incur a reasonable fine and spend a night or two in jail.
How long does expungement take in Kentucky?
Both agencies must run criminal record reports on the person petitioning for the expungement. The KSP certifies the eligibility of the expungement request. Expungement certification costs $40 and the process may take up to 60 days.
Can a DUI be expunged in KY?
If you pled guilty to DUI you must now wait 10 years after your sentence or probation (whichever is longer) to expunge you DUI misdemeanor conviction. DUI felony convictions are not eligible for expungement. In 2016, the Kentucky General Assembly passed and the Governor signed into law Senate Bill 56.
Which is more serious a felony or a misdemeanor in Kentucky?
Misdemeanors are designated as Class A or B (less serious than Class A). (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 532.020 (2019).) More serious crimes (called felonies) are punishable by state prison terms of one year or more. For more information on felonies in Kentucky, see Kentucky Felony Crimes by Class and Sentences.
What is a Class B misdemeanor in Kentucky?
Class B Misdemeanors. Class B misdemeanors are punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $250. Second degree trespass (illegally entering a property protected by fencing or another enclosure) is a Class B misdemeanor in Kentucky. (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 532.020, 532.090, 534.040 (2019).)
What are the types of criminal cases in Kentucky?
In Kentucky, there are three main types of cases handled in criminal court: felonies, misdemeanors, and violations. According to KRS 500.080 felonies and misdemeanors are crimes. Violations are not considered crimes.
How to get a felony conviction expunged in Kentucky?
Additionally: 1 In the five years before filing for the expungement you cannot have been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor. 2 You cannot currently have a pending felony or misdemeanor charge. 3 At least five years must have passed since you completed your sentence. 4 You cannot have previously expunged a felony conviction under KRS 431.073.